• en
  • fr

Kinga Glyk

Biographie
Kinga Glyk

“I can’t sing that well, that’s why I play bass,” says Kinga Glyk. This sounds suspiciously modest considering the hype that has surrounded her for the past two years. And yet with these words, the bass guitarist from Poland succinctly sums up what her new album Feelings is all about. With unparalleled artistry and nonchalance, she lets her bass guitar tell stories. Sensitive and penetrating, rich in nuances and strong in grooves, she summons up feelings. They strike a chord with Kinga Glyk’s listeners, conjure up personal stories and reflect the personality of this hugely talented young woman. Then there is her courage to experiment, to try something new, to become happy against all the rules. “As a child, I was interested in the bass guitar because it gave me an unusually powerful voice that I didn’t have at the time,” Kinga reflects on her beginnings as an instrumentalist. “In the meantime, its sounds have become my actual language in which I can express my feelings much more intensively.” Undoubtedly! But her bass playing is not about going higher, faster, further. Kinga Glyk doesn’t play music for musicians, but for the many tens of thousands of souls she has touched in the course of her still young career with her storytelling on the bass. Her stories reveal her extremely open-minded, loving and compassionate view of the world. In short, the twelve tracks of her new album are intrinsically human. And that is what makes Feelings so unique.

Kinga Glyk describes Feelings as her most personal work to date. A look at the list of authors of the new tracks reveals why: seven songs were written exclusively by her, two she wrote together with her pianist and producer Pawel Tomaszewski. “In contrast to my last album Dream, my band and I didn’t just improvise in the studio,” Kinga describes the creation of Feelings. “Before we started recording this time, I had worked out my compositions in more detail.” Not that Kinga’s music sounds too cerebral as a result. On the contrary, in the opening song “Let’s Play Some Funky Groove” she creates plenty of stirring moments to warm things up. Her fingers hardly hold still, want to snap to the beat in her evocative and organic interpretation of the Minneapolis sound, before the piece segues right in the middle to live drum’n’bass. “Lennie’s Pennies”, originally by Lennie Tristano, becomes a groove monster in Kinga’s interpretation, revealing her trio in its essence: brilliant solos, refreshingly cliché-free improvisation, and tight ensemble playing. Marcus Miller’s keyboarder Brett Williams sets the “Joy Joy” funk on fire together with Kinga, and cracks the whip with jazzy rock’n’roll in “Mercy” (Duffy). The keyboarder and self-proclaimed “dance music artist” Anomalyie, from Montreal, gives funky form to Kinga’s “5 Cookies” with his “Superfreak” (James Rick) riff.

In “What Is Life”, the core piece of Feelings, Kinga Glyk asks: “Who would we be without feelings? They let us experience so much, they teach us, sometimes bringing pain, sometimes joy. Emotions – without them, we would be empty. Words aren’t always able to express our feelings … but music is.” Her spoken-word intro is followed by the musical version of her experience turned credence. She combines her free approach to jazz with breathtaking narrative moments based alternately on R’n’B and folk. The journey of Kinga’s new album Feelings ends with “Enu Maseti”, a ballad in a fantasy language that once again embodies the uniqueness of this album: big emotions do not contradict improvisation; in fact, they encourage freedom and breaking with convention. For some time now, Kinga Glyk has been a role model in this regard. For about two years she has garnered the attention of fans, TV and radio producers, YouTube users, journalsits and festival and club organisers alike. You literally get goose bumps when she plucks and strikes the steel strings of her bass guitar. And not so much because this hugely talented soloist is a young woman in a male-dominated circle of instrumentalists, but because Kinga Glyk exemplifies autonomy on the bass. And Feelings is the temporary apex of her work.

• en
  • fr

Kinga Glyk

Biographie
Kinga Glyk

LA REINE DE LA BASSE ÉLECTRIQUE EST DE RETOUR

 “Je ne chante pas tellement bien, c’est pour ça que je joue de la basse,” explique Kinga Glyk. Une déclaration étonnement modeste au vu de l’intérêt qu’elle suscite depuis deux ans. Néanmoins, les mots de la bassiste polonaise résument précisément l’essence de son nouvel album Feelings. Avec une virtuosité et une nonchalance inégalées, elle laisse sa basse raconter des histoires. Sensible et pénétrante, riche en nuances et en groove, elle provoque des sensations. Elle fait vibrer une corde sensible chez ses auditeurs, fait appel à des histoires personnelles et reflète la personnalité d’une jeune femme hautement talentueuse. Elle a aussi le courage d’expérimenter, de tenter des choses inédites et de s’épanouir sans tenir compte des règles. “Quand j’étais enfant, je m’intéressais à la basse car elle me donnait une voix inhabituellement puissante,” se souvient Kinga en évoquant ses débuts d’instrumentiste. “Ses sonorités sont devenues mon propre langage. Grâce à elle, je peux exprimer mes sentiments avec plus d’intensité.” Certes ! Mais son jeu de basse ne consiste pas uniquement à aller plus haut, plus vite ou plus loin. Kinga Glyk ne joue pas pour les musiciens, mais pour les dizaines de milliers d’âmes qu’elle a touché au cours de sa jeune carrière. Ses histoires révèlent une vision du monde extrêmement ouverte, aimante et bienveillante. En résumé, les douze titres de son nouvel album sont profondément humains, et c’est ce qui rend Feelings si unique.

Kinga Glyk décrit Feelings comme son œuvre la plus personnelle à ce jour. Un coup d’oeil aux auteurs de ces nouveaux titres en révèle la raison : elle a écrit sept chansons seule, et deux autres avec son pianiste et producteur Pawel Tomaszewski. “Contrairement à mon précédent album Dream, je n’ai pas simplement improvisé en studio avec mon groupe,” explique Kinga au sujet de la création de Feelings. “Avant de commencer l’enregistrement, j’ai travaillé mes compositions avec plus de détail.” La musique de Kinga n’en est pas devenue pour autant plus cérébrale. Au contraire, dès “Let’s Play Some Funky Groove”, le titre d’ouverture, elle installe de nombreuses séquences propices à réchauffer l’atmosphère. Ses doigts ne tiennent pas en place et font claquer le beat dans son interprétation organique du son de Minneapolis, avant de plonger dans la drum’n’bass. “Lennie’s Pennies”, composé par Lennie Tristano, se transforme en monstre groovy sous l’impulsion de Kinga et de son formidable trio : les solos sont brillants, dénués des clichés propres à l’improvisation, et l’ensemble est tight. Brett Williams, le clavier de Marcus Miller, met le feu avec Kinga au funky “Joy Joy” et fait claquer le fouet avec une version jazzy rock’n’roll de “Mercy” (Duffy). Le Montréalais Anomalie, claviériste et “ artiste de dance music” auto-proclamé, habille de son funk le “5 Cookies” de Kinga en reprenant le riff du “Superfreak” de Rick James.

Dans “What Is Life”, le titre central de Feelings, Kinga Glyk s’interroge : “Que serait-on sans les sentiments ? Ils nous font vivre tant d’expériences, ils nous éduquent en provoquant parfois de la douleur ou de la joie. Les émotions – sans elles, nous serions vides. Les mots ne sont pas toujours capables d’exprimer nos sentiments… Contrairement à la musique.” Son introduction en spoken-word se prolonge par l’expression musicale de son crédo et combine son approche libre du jazz avec des explosions narratives inspirées par le R’n’B et le folk. Le voyage offert par Feelings, le nouvel album de Kinga, s’achève avec “Enu Maseti”, une ballade dans une langue imaginaire qui souligne à nouveau le caractère unique de l’album. Les grandes émotions peuvent aller de pair avec l’improvisation. Elles peuvent même encourager la liberté et briser les conventions. Kinga Glyk le prouve depuis quelques temps : ces deux dernières années, elle a attiré l’attention des fans, des producteurs de la télévision et de radio, des utilisateurs de YouTube, des journalistes et des organisateurs de festivals et les propriétaires de clubs. Elle peut vous donner la chair de poule rien qu’en caressant les cordes d’acier de sa basse. Et pas seulement parce qu’elle est une jeune soliste hyper-talentueuse dans un métier dominé par les instrumentistes masculins, mais parce que Kinga Glyk représente cette autonomie de la basse. Pour toutes ces raisons, Feelings s’impose comme une totale réussite.